top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEllie

Beginnings, difficulties and a possible change of plan

Updated: Apr 28, 2018

So, I have been researching and managed to find a few charities based in Kent involved in refugee awareness and against the detention system in the UK. I contacted a few and had only two responses:

  1. We are involved in this kind of thing and you may be interested in coming to our general meeting that I'll be arranging around the 22nd March...

  2. I'd be happy to discuss ideas with you on the phone

After having to most likely rule out the first one after not being sure about leaving a vague meeting until that last minute, I called the man offering a phone call. This was helpful, however helpful in telling me that finding people to talk to on this matter would be extremely difficult due to its sensitive nature, and that a project of this size probably warranted a smaller scale topic, as my ideas were very broad and not so specific... just something about the refugee situation in the UK at the moment and the struggles and injustices faced.


This was useful in making me rationalise what I had to do and the scale of the project and time limit and the fact I had no accessibility. So, I thought about something maybe more accessible and contacted the Canterbury Food Bank one afternoon, but had an immediate reply with a simple no saying they didn't want any filming done about what they do, as again it is such a sensitive topic.


After a mini crisis, I think I've decided I may have to opt for something more close to home that I don't have to rely on organisations for cooperation, rather fellow students or family. Leading on from this, I am thinking about exploring body image perceptions as it still links with what arose from my symbolic camera project - linking with ideas of society and struggle and comfort.


We shall see...

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Sharing Session

Today we had the opportunity to share with the group what we had done so far. I'd got down most of what I thought I wanted to include, yet hadn't fully edited it to the standard I would be happy with,

To Music or Not to Music

This week I started editing properly for the first time, and looking through my footage I was pulling out bits and bobs from the warehouse and found that the backing sounds to general warehouse scenes

bottom of page