top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEllie

Change of plan... again. Off to Calais.

Updated: Apr 28, 2018

A few weeks ago I decided to go to Calais and volunteer with HelpRefugees in their warehouse, so signed up to go on the 23rd February with CamCRAG, a charity from my home town that organises convoys there every 6 weeks. I've been meaning to do this for ages, but researching on behalf of my film about the refugee situation, I now feel emotionally invested to do so! I didn't have plans to film there initially when signing up, and had decided I would have to change my plan for my film to something closer to home and more accessible (I was thinking body image - so a complete change) because I was struggling with properly getting in contact with charities in Kent. However, when I went to our seminar on Tuesday, we had a sharing circle of where we are up to, and I told everyone of my current issues and that I was thinking of changing my topic but that I was going to Calais in next week anyway, and Mike told me it was a perfect opportunity. So, now I am hoping to film the weekend and the journey.. I feel a little apprehensive about going there with a camera, I don't want it to look like I have alternative motives and there's a lot of pressure if it doesn't go to plan as it's not something easily revisited at a short notice.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Sharing Session

Today we had the opportunity to share with the group what we had done so far. I'd got down most of what I thought I wanted to include, yet hadn't fully edited it to the standard I would be happy with,

To Music or Not to Music

This week I started editing properly for the first time, and looking through my footage I was pulling out bits and bobs from the warehouse and found that the backing sounds to general warehouse scenes

bottom of page