top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEllie

First thoughts

Updated: Apr 28, 2018



Making the symbolic camera made me think about what is important to me and what I feel I would like my film to do: in some way try and raise awareness for something or someone. I am in a lucky position in life and would love to work with people or a group and raise awareness for what they do and what their stories are. My initial thoughts are along the lines of something for refugee awareness and the detention system in England, or something closer to home in hunger and food banks. These are both things sometimes covered in the media but often forgotten about despite being constant ongoing issues for so many- they are more out of sight without constant reminders everyday. This follows on from the ideas of using Anthropology for advocacy and visual anthropology is a particularly good medium for this, reaching wider audiences and the public to raise awareness and encourage change. Nancy Scherper-Hughes has been a particular inspiration in this stating that "If Anthropology cannot be put to service as a tool for human liberation, why are we bothering at all?" (2009, p.3). This is something that excites me and I will definitely hold it true to the work that I will do on this module and hopefully in the future.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Sharing Session

Today we had the opportunity to share with the group what we had done so far. I'd got down most of what I thought I wanted to include, yet hadn't fully edited it to the standard I would be happy with,

To Music or Not to Music

This week I started editing properly for the first time, and looking through my footage I was pulling out bits and bobs from the warehouse and found that the backing sounds to general warehouse scenes

bottom of page