top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureEllie

Teach-Ins

Week 18 saw the beginning of strikes against cuts to pensions and the modern day university system as a whole. Mike was a keen advocate for this and went out filming, bringing footage in to us in organised 'teach-ins' outside of the usual timetable of events. This was the beginning of my editing journey...


The first thing I noticed was that it was difficult to go through all the footage and remember what was beneficial to use, so took Mike's advice and every time I saw something I liked would just put it on the storyboard and then rearranged them from there. Also, having not filmed it, I didn't know much about what narrative would be best for it to take, so was a bit nervous of making this up myself in case of missing something vital out. In the end I just ended up making the beginning, or a trailer, of the film. I tried to focus this narrative on one speaker in the beginning, and tried to experiment and focus on editing using the different types of edits that Mike had highlighted to us previously.


Having Mike around in this time was beneficial, and learning from my classmates is also proving to be essential. After a couple of  hours looking at the footage and playing around with Premier Pro, I managed to come up with ...less than 1 minute of edited film...


0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Sharing Session

Today we had the opportunity to share with the group what we had done so far. I'd got down most of what I thought I wanted to include, yet hadn't fully edited it to the standard I would be happy with,

To Music or Not to Music

This week I started editing properly for the first time, and looking through my footage I was pulling out bits and bobs from the warehouse and found that the backing sounds to general warehouse scenes

bottom of page